fashion · home · Islamic fashion · lifestyle · motivation · sewing · Uncategorized · women

From Idea to actual product my #TBT memory 

Dolman sleeve Maxi

This #TBT memory is awesome! This was my very FIRST. Siri2Siri dress. I had an idea for a summer maxi dress. I wanted the dress to be light, airy, beautiful to the eyes, comfortable and practical.

As I woke up in the middle of the night to get started. (When I get excited about a design I never can go back to sleep) I was sifting thru my fabric stash looking for some knit material. I bought this knit at a remnant sale. I think I paid $1.99 for 3yrds. It was a good deal and I could not leave it on the table, I had to take it home with me. Even though I was not sure what I was going to make from it. Well guess what, it was the perfect piece of fabric to design and sew my first dress.

This awesome graphic fabric became my sample. I schleped this dress every where with me. I needed feedback from my wonderful friends about the dress and if I needed to make any changes. So one by one I had my friends try on this dress to make sure my sizing was good and to make sure the length was no to long.

Everyone that saw the dress, loved it and wanted to buy it! I had to explain this is my sample. But not to worry I will have more soon.

As time went on I had to redo my pattern make another sample and get more people to try on the dress to make sure it was fitting all body types properly. Once I felt comfortable that the sizing was working, I was on the hunt for the perfect fabric.

I was not sure what I was looking for. I knew once I saw it I would know “It” was the right fabric. I definitely did not want to make an all black dress for the summer. I wanted bright vivid colors.

On this particular day I made a trip to the fabric store and as I rounded the corner this wonderful pink geometric fabric caught me eye. At first glance I thought this may work. And as I began to walk the many aisles of fabric I found the same geometric fabric in purple, blue, turquoise and green! That is when I knew THIS IS IT! This is the fabric…

 

103
Pink Dolman Sleeve Maxi Dress

 

And as the old saying goes. The rest is history! Soon after I was asked to participate in a trunk show and I was able to show my new dresses. You can read about that experience here.

When I look back over these two pictures I am amazed at how far I have come. I instantly get a feeling of satisfaction and content. I think to myself “I did this!” Even though I have a long way to go to reach entrepreneurial success. I can definitely see I have come a long way as well! And that makes me happy!

Thank You for allowing me to share this memory with you. It is a very humbling feeling.

You can view all my dresses here.

And as always I appreciate you taking time out to read this blog. Remember Keeping sewing, Keep creating. ¡ciao!
Siri2Siri

Leave a Reply

