fashion · Islamic fashion · lifestyle · sewing · Uncategorized · women

how awesome is this throwback. The perfect fit.

 

 

This is the best throwback picture ever! This is a picture of one of my first dresses I offered on my Etsy shop. You may look at this picture and think, “What is the big deal? It’s just a dress!” but you see. This customer is my very first online customer.  Not only was she my first online customer. She was my first online customer with a specific need.  She is a tall women, standing at 5’8″ or 5’9″. When shopping for clothes. Her main problem is finding a dress that is long enough for her without it looking to short and disprotioned to her height.

I was so nervous! I make all my patterns. I make all my samples AND I make ALL my dresses. With her being out of state. I knew I could not jump in the car and take the dress to her to try on and then alter if need be.  I needed to take my time and the measurements needed to be accurate and on point.

Since this was my first time altering my pattern. I was still learning how to construct my dress in an efficient manner. I knew If I made it too long she would not be happy. If I made it too short I just wasted her time and money. I also wasted my time and money, so again my skills needed to be on point.

Another part of the problem was I did not want to alter my current pattern. If I altered the pattern. When it was time to cut and sew dozens of my dresses. They all would not fit. They would more than likely be to long. So at the end of the day I had another problem to solve.

Inspiration comes at the oddest time. In the middle of the night I realized what I needed to do. I needed to make a specific pattern skirt for her at the required length. That way I do not have to guess about the length of the skirt every time I needed to cut and sew a dress. So I have a “regular” skirt length pattern and I have a “xtralong” length skirt pattern for my customers that are over 5’8″-5’9″.

Once I solved that problem I was ready to cut and sew her dress up and drop it in the mail. It turned out great!  When she received the dress she immediately tried it on. I was so nervous, but hey it fit PERFECTLY! (her exact words) lol.

Because of that awesome fitting. I gained an extreme amount of confidence in my pattern making skills and customer relation.

I learned a couple of things from this experience. The most important thing was I needed to change and organize my process behind the scenes when it comes to cutting and sewing. I do not need to guess at anything when it’s time to go into production. After I made her dress. I went ahead and standardized my patterns and changed my measurements. (and we will save that topic for another blog) lol

Thank you for reading my blog and allowing me to share one of my happiest moments with you. To see what inspires me,  you can follow me on twitter, IG, Facebook, and Pinterest.

As always, Keep Sewing and Keep Creating.

Siri2Siri

 

Leave a Reply

